About The Brae – Dawesley
The Brae has an incredibly rich history, starting as a copper smelter that took the name of Mr Scott, whom established himself along the little stream which became known as Scott’s Creek in 1847 (now Dawesley Creek)
It became the beating heart of the small township of Dawesley, established by William Bower Dawes in 1857 – The Long Barn served as storage for a large stock pile of local wood needed to fire the Smelters, it was built out of the easiest material to find: Cinder Blocks (made out of the by product of Copper Smelting)
Mr & Mrs Hawthorn owned the 300+ acre holding after the Smelters were decommissioned and turned the property and the Long Barn in to a thriving and award winning Merino Stud Farm. To this day you can see the shearing station and sheep doors on the Western Wall.
New "Elopement Style Weddings" available
We have partnered up with some of the industry’s superstars to offer super easy elopement packages at The Brae Dawesley – click the button below to find out more!!
Since Australia Day Weekend 2019 The Brae has been the home and life-long wish come true for Maddie and Milos, who live on the property along with their baby daughter Ayla (and Baby no.2 on the way) their 2 white fluffy dogs Jade & Jasper, 5 pet sheep (Daisy, Bindi, Poppy, Dahlia and Manuka) and countless Silky cross Bantam chickens.
211 Old Princes Highway
Dawesley – 5252 – South Australia
0402 143 516